What Does ASMR Have to do With Caregiving?.

All I can think to do is go back to the morning of July 10th of this year, and share with you my personal story of how I stumbled across ASMR.

To begin, know that prior to that day, I had never heard about ASMR.  Yes, I had all the physical tingling sensations and experiences all the ASMR YouTube videos talked about, but I had no clue what ASMR stood was.  Initially, I thought it was the name of  somebody’s YouTube Channel, letting the world know that he was an “asian  male” and that he was “religious”.  (I happened to be on YouTube that day,  searching for videos of people unboxing and eating assorted Japanese candy, etc. )  It wasn’t until I clicked on several different Japanese candy YouTube channels, of both males and females, that I finally figured it out…partially.  ASMR must stand for whispering I thought, and let it go at that.  Later I found ASMR videos of just tapping and clinking and soft rubbing sounds.  The rest is history…

ASMR.  Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response.  There it was, bigger than beans, on Wikipedia and all over the internet.  I was very aware of the comforting, relaxing calm I experienced with certain sounds, touches and environments.  I just didn’t know it was classified as an actual “thang”.   Live and learn, so the old saying goes.

Here’s how it’s defined in the Urban Dictionary:
Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response (ASMR) is a physical sensation characterized by a pleasurable tingling that typically begins in the head and scalp, and often moves down the spine and through the limbs. (Go to Wikipedia for more in-depth info)

(Note: The pleasurable tingling sensation is not to be confused with sexual arousal, though I’ve noticed some uneducated, non believers want to classify ASMR simply, as a unique sexual response.)

My new awareness and daily implementation of ASMR in my own personal life, has reduced my stress levels beyond what I can even begin to explain to you.  It has impacted my life for the better.  It’s benefits have “runneth over”  into my husband’s life as well.   I’ve been caring for him at home since 2009, as he recovers from a stroke.   He’s been much happier this last week.  Happy wife, happy hubby.

I’m sleeping WAY better at night now.  I feel as if my life has been made “new” again.  New life, new wife, new love affair for my husband and I, married now 33 years.  Less stress makes it easier for me go slow, and implement enjoyable ASMR moments for my husband, through my caregiving.  I’m whispering and taking time to talk nicer, more gentle to him now.  I am intentionally more gentle as I touch his hands, his face, neck, ears and his back.  I gently rub his scalp now daily and give him relaxing head massages.  We are reliving together, all the nice things we did to each other when we first got married, when life wasn’t so frazzled and fast paced.

My awareness of ASMR has allowed me to enjoy more, my daily routine. With less stress in my life,  I have to mention for a second time, I’m now sleeping better during the night.  I’m now able to be a more loving caregiver for my husband during the day.  I am forever grateful for those of you who shared ASMR over the Internet.  Your shared knowledge, has once again, saved my life to some degree.  Thank you!💕

So, it is of my opinion that ASMR has EVERYTHING to do with caregiving.  For a quick intro, you can search  ASMR videos available on Youtube.    (Below, is A video I just recently made.  Remember though I’m new at this☺️)

Leave a Reply

